Review 2014-15

Inmarsat In-Port Race



Overall In-Port title for Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing

Date: June 27, 2015
Winner: Team Brunel - click on the Results tab to see full results

Inshore win for Team Brunel

Team Brunel emerged victorious in the final act of the Volvo Ocean Race 2014-15 today in the Inmarsat In-Port Race Gothenburg.

Behind them there was major drama in a race for specialists of inshore racing as MAPFRE outwitted Team Alvimedica in the final few moments of an intriguing race.

By pushing the Turkish/American boat wide to allow Dongfeng Race Team to slip in ahead of them, MAPFRE ensured that they broke the tie for fourth place, which they were sharing with Team Alvimedica.

Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing earned the six points they needed to win the overall In-Port Race Series by edging out last-placed Team Vestas Wind.

"It’s not how to start, it’s how you finish," says Team Brunel's skipper Bouwe Bekking.

"We had a shocker start in the In-Port Race but we end with a first place. The clean sweep goes to Abu Dhabi – congratulations to them. They deserve the In-Port Series win."

On Monday, Ian Walker’s crew claimed the overall offshore trophy – the main event – with five points to spare from Team Brunel.

Team SCA sailed a canny race to claim second place in Gothenburg and with it the final, third podium place in the inshore series behind the Emirati and the Dutch boats.

Two royals had front row, onboard views of the absorbing action: His Majesty King Juan Carlos of Spain on MAPFRE, and Victoria, Crown Princess of Sweden, who was invited on Team SCA.

Both are confirmed sailing fans and would have appreciated more than any the intricacies of such a tactical tussle in near windless conditions.



Watch race highlights:

Watch race full replay:

Course map:

Download the map of the racecourse (JPG 6.6mb)



Inmarsat In-Port Race Gothenburg results:

Start time: 13:10 (local time)

In order of finish: Finish time (local) Points
Team Brunel 14:08:54 1
Team SCA 14:10:19 2
MAPFRE 14:11:50 3
Dongfeng Race Team 14:12:14 4
Team Alvimedica 14:12:49 5
Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing 14:14:10 6
Team Vestas Wind 14:16:31 7
No results found :(
  • {{ | amDateFormat:'MMMM D'}}

    {{ | amDateFormat:'MMMM D, YYYY'}}
No results found :(